Heywood Road

Sale FC boast a long rugby history, going right back to the 1860s.

Key to much of that is their home ground at Heywood Road. This is a particularly atmospheric ground with the covered Jim Birtles stand down one side and an all-seater grandstand down the other.

Land at Heywood Road was purchased in 1905 with a club house being built the same year.

Recent ground improvements have included new hospitality facilities, viewing platforms and office space.

Professional off shoot Sale Sharks played at the ground between 1996 and 2003.

Currently Heywood Road is also a matchday venue for Swinton Lions Rugby League club with a safety certificate for 3,387 spectators according to this report:

https://democratic.trafford.gov.uk/documents/s15219/ITEM%204%20Report%20on%20an%20application%20by%20Sale%20Rugby%20Football%20Club%20for%20a%20General%20Safety%20Certificate.pdf

Here are some recent pictures of the ground.

Looking onto the all-seater grandstand

The Jim Birtles Stand

Upgraded Hospitality/Office facility

 

Sign up to get involved:

Latest Tweets

DID YOU KNOW? Broughton Rangers disbanded during the 1941-42 season and reformed after the Second World War. Their last competitive game before this was a 3-26 defeat at Halifax. For the record R. McCormick scored Rangers try #hlfsupported #sportinghistory #rugby

About a year ago from MCR Rugby History's Twitter